Al Ain paid parking: where AED 2 per hour applies in 2026
Al Ain paid parking costs AED 2 per hour in designated standard spaces. Check where the rate applies, payment options and unconfirmed rules.
- 7 min read

Al Ain paid parking costs AED 2 per hour in designated standard spaces under the new-sector announcement, as of October 2026, according to Emirates News Agency (WAM). This does not make every city bay chargeable. Before paying, check the bay classification, local restrictions and the instructions in Darb or TAMM.
Key facts
- As of October 2026, the WAM rollout announcement confirms AED 2 per hour for designated standard spaces in the new sectors.
- As of October 2026, the same official announcement schedules activation for October 26, 2026, covering 1,455 spaces across three sectors in Al Mu’tarid and Central District.
- As of October 2026, Q Mobility’s general Mawaqif FAQ lists standard parking at AED 2 per hour, capped at AED 15 for 24 hours; the new-sector announcement does not expressly confirm that cap.
How much does Al Ain paid parking cost per hour?
The announced tariff applies to designated standard spaces, rather than every parking space in Al Ain. Therefore, identify the bay type before treating a headline hourly price as your payable fee.
The Integrated Transport Centre (Abu Dhabi Mobility), under the Department of Municipalities and Transport, oversees the wider parking framework. However, a general Mawaqif tariff and a specific activation announcement answer different questions: one describes parking categories, while the other identifies a particular rollout.
The table separates the new-sector announcement from the general tariff. Each figure carries its source date so you can distinguish confirmed local information from broader background.
| Parking information | Rate or limit | Scope and dated source |
|---|---|---|
| New Al Mu’tarid and Central District sectors | AED 2 per hour | As of October 2026, WAM confirms AED 2 per hour for designated standard spaces, not every bay. |
| General standard parking | AED 2 per hour; AED 15 cap for 24 hours | As of October 2026, Q Mobility’s FAQ lists AED 2 per hour and AED 15 for 24 hours; the new-sector notice does not expressly confirm the cap. |
| General premium parking | AED 3 per hour; four-hour maximum | As of October 2026, Q Mobility’s FAQ lists AED 3 per hour and a four-hour maximum; this is general background, not a premium tariff announced for the new sectors. |
Does the hourly rate apply everywhere in Al Ain?
No. The announcement confirms a tariff for designated standard spaces within named sectors, not a blanket charge across Al Ain.
For example, a neighbourhood name alone does not establish whether your particular bay belongs to the paid scheme. Similarly, a nearby standard space does not establish the rules for a reserved or otherwise designated space.
If you are checking Al Mu’tarid parking fees, look for the instructions governing the actual space you intend to use. The same applies when checking Central District Al Ain parking charges: the district name is useful context, but it is not a substitute for identifying your bay.
The sign next to the bay is the final word. Also, do not assume that paying a standard tariff makes a designated space available to every driver.
Which areas does the new announcement cover?
The new announcement covers sectors across Al Mu’tarid and Central District. However, it does not establish that every street within either area becomes paid parking.
The rollout includes designated spaces for People of Determination. Their inclusion in the overall parking inventory should not be read as permission for any driver to occupy them.
For the activation date and affected-sector context, use the dedicated Al Ain parking rollout guide. Keep that location information separate from the tariff question: knowing when a sector activates does not confirm every operating condition.
Is there a daily cap for the new Al Ain sectors?
The new-sector announcement does not expressly confirm a daily cap. Consequently, you should not automatically apply the general standard-parking cap to a session in a newly activated bay.
This distinction matters most when you plan a long stay. A general tariff page can provide useful background, but it does not fill every omission in a local activation notice.
Before leaving your car for an extended visit, check the session options and restrictions shown for the actual location. If the payment instructions do not establish a daily option, seek current authority guidance rather than assuming a maximum charge.
What are the paid hours, and is Friday or Sunday free?
The new-sector announcement does not specify operating hours or weekly free days. Moreover, the reviewed official sources disagree about the weekly free day.
As of October 2026, Q Mobility’s current general FAQ lists paid hours from 8:00 AM to midnight, Monday–Saturday, with Sundays and public holidays free.
By contrast, as of February 2020, Abu Dhabi Mobility’s older Al Ain announcement listed Saturday–Thursday, 8:00 AM to midnight, with Fridays and official holidays free.
These are official sources from different periods, and rules change. Neither schedule establishes the operating arrangements for the newly announced sectors. Therefore, do not rely on an older free-day rule when planning your visit.
How can you pay through Darb or TAMM?
The rollout announcement names Darb and TAMM as payment channels. Use the instructions for your actual bay rather than assuming that a general parking method applies everywhere.
- Identify whether your bay is signed as paid parking and classified as a standard space.
- Check the location-specific instructions in Darb or TAMM.
- Confirm the displayed fee and session details before completing payment.
- Keep the payment confirmation.
- Check any additional restrictions affecting your space or intended stay.
Also, verify any claimed free period before relying on it. The announcement’s silence on a schedule does not establish that parking is free outside a particular time.
Where can UAE Parking help?
UAE Parking can help you keep your vehicle plates saved on your device and consult broader parking information. However, it is independent and is not affiliated with Abu Dhabi Mobility or Q Mobility.
The UAE Parking Abu Dhabi page lists zone rates and operating hours for reference. Nevertheless, general city information does not confirm the missing conditions for a newly activated Al Ain bay. UAE Parking does not take or process parking payments.
Frequently asked questions
Does the announced hourly rate apply to every Al Ain parking space?
No. It applies to designated standard spaces covered by the announcement, not every bay in Al Ain. Check the classification and restrictions for your actual space.
Does the general standard-parking daily cap automatically apply to the new sectors?
No automatic application is established by the new-sector announcement. Confirm the available session options and any cap through current location-specific instructions.
Can I use Darb or TAMM for the new sectors?
The rollout announcement names Darb and TAMM as payment channels. Follow the instructions for your location and confirm the session details before completing payment.
Should I assume Friday or Sunday is free?
No. The reviewed official sources give different weekly free days, and the new-sector announcement does not specify a schedule. Check current local instructions before relying on a free day.
Bottom line
The announced hourly tariff is useful, but its scope matters just as much as its price. Check that your bay is a designated standard space, confirm the applicable session details, and avoid assuming a daily cap or free-day schedule. For supported parking-message tools and locally stored plates, download the free UAE Parking app for iPhone or Android.